Broad Valley Orchard

Main menu:

Site search




Waiting for the Day

New CD By Judy Marti
Companion CD to A BANJO PICKIN’ GIRL – The Life and Music of Ola Belle Campbell Reed

Mike Seeger wrote this about A BANJO PICKIN’ GIRL – The Life and Music of Ola Belle Campbell Reed:
“Thanks for the Olabelle book, much appreciated… there’s much good
to read and learn there.”
Best regards, Mike

Price of Waiting for the Day:
$8 + tax (if living in PA =$.48) if ordered with the book
$10 + tax (if living in PA = $.60) +$2 S+H

Send a check or money order to: Broad Valley Orchard Publications (BVO Pub.)
1934 Wenksville Rd
Biglerville, PA 17307

Waiting for the Day is Judy’s latest CD, and it is the companion CD for her book A BANJO PICKIN’ GIRL – The Life and Music of Ola Belle Campbell Reed. The CD has several of the banjo tunes on it that Ola Belle taught to her, and the words and music to them are in the book.


            Waiting for the Day contains the following songs:

1. Cannonball Blues – traditional song from Ola Belle’s repertoire.

2. Chewing Gum – a banjo tune that Ola Belle liked to do for children.

3. Down in the Willow Garden – traditional murder ballad.

4. Ground Hog – traditional banjo tune.

5. Hills of North Carolina – Judy wrote this song and it is based upon a story that Ola Belle told her of a distant relation who lived and died in the mountains.

6. I Hate the Train That Carried My Girl From Town – one of my favorites from the tunes that Ola Belle taught me.

7. I’m Just Here To Get My Baby Out of Jail  - great old story song.

8. Innisfree  - The words were written by William Butler Yeats in the poem titled The Lake Isle of Innisfree. Judy added the tune.

9. It Ain’t Going To Rain No More – another children’s song that Ola Belle liked to do in schools.

10. New River Train – this song is also known as Darlin’. It was the theme song of the New River Boys and Girls, who added the chorus and renamed it.

11. Single Girl – Judy did not learn this from Ola Belle, although she said she knew it.

12. Sowing on the Mountain – this was the first song that Ola Belle taught Judy, and it has a lot of room for harmonies.

13. Waiting for the Day – This was written by Judy after she tried to understand how it would feel to be away from home.  To be changed by drastic and/or brutal actions and circumstances over a long period of time, so that if one was to return home, it would feel forever foreign. And that feeling of trust and comfort – like being in a protective womb – would be lost. This is dedicated to those displaced by war and by Katrina.

14. Wake Up Worried – Judy wrote this in early January 2007, when the world was experiencing many global climate changing effects. A friend called her and they were talking about the weather, and the friend (mother of 3 small children) said “I wake up worried.”